Fly Shop Man

“Where are you thinking of fishing?”

While Fly Shop Man and my dad chat, I pretend to study the merchandise. Something about Fly Shop Man seems familiar. Maybe the hint of pomposity under his politeness? His close-cropped curls? The way he stands?

I wander down another aisle. Fly Shop Man mentions that he used to guide on my favorite river.

It’s been twenty years, but I know who the man is.


I finally caught fish after three days of trying. Pink and silver rainbow trout, golden brown trout. It seemed like I couldn’t cast my line without hooking one. It was every bit as fun as Dad promised it would be.

My line drifted with the current. Suddenly, the fly rod jerked in my hand. Another fish. He raced away, the ziiiinnnnnng of the reel indicating the speed at which that fish pulled the line through the water. Almost before I could blink, the bright yellow line gave way to white.

“Dad? What’s this white stuff?” I called.

Laughs rang out up and down the river.

Dad splashed his way to me. “That’s backing.”

“Is that bad?”

“Think of it like a backup parachute. You don’t want to have to use it, but it’s there when you need it.” He paused. “I think that’s a big damn fish.”

My tired arm agreed. Dad coached me on what to do as I reeled the fish in, then let her swim away. Reel, run. Reel, run. Eventually, I brought the fish in close enough for Dad to scoop her up with his net. Pink and gold and silver scales sparkled when sunlight hit them.

Dad frowned when he tried to remove the hook from the fish’s mouth. Clear fishing line looped around the fish.

“Is she tangled in my line?”

“No. I got your hook out. Looks like she’s tangled in trash.”

I worried while he snipped and clipped. Please don’t let her die.

“Here,” Dad handed the net at me. “That should do it. Keep swishing the net in the water while I get my camera. I’m getting a picture of this.”

Dad snapped a few quick pictures, and I released the fish back into the river. She darted away, a flick of her tail splashing water on my arm.

“She just gave you the fish equivalent of a middle finger,” Dad laughed.

Footsteps crunched on the gravel behind me. I turned to see a man with close-cropped, curly hair approach.

“I hope you know that you just killed that fish by keeping it out of the water that long,” the man announced.

“I did?”

Dad intervened. “Actually, I think we saved that fish. She had monofiliament coming out of her mouth and, well, other parts. I was able to clean that up before we released her.” Dad turned to me. “Why don’t you go fish some more? She’ll be okay. Remember how strong she was when she swam off?”

I waded back into the river, grateful that my sunglasses hid my tears. Dad said something else to the man, then followed me.

“That man was just pissed because his clients aren’t catching anything. And you, a teenage girl, are out-fishing every man on this river.”

“I’m not giving him the satisfaction of quitting, Dad.”

As Dad waded off, I heard him say, “I should’ve hit the sonofabitch.”


I wander back over to my dad.

Fly Shop Man is saying, “That’s technical fishing up there. You have to sneak up on the fish.” He gets down on his knees right in the middle of the store. His right arm goes up as though he’s holding his fly rod aloft; his left arm supports his weight as he crabs forward. “You have to make sure the fish can’t see you approach. When you get just to the edge of the stream, get way down.” He flops on his belly, still waving his arm in the air.

I don’t look at Dad.

Fly Shop Man stands back up, and dusts himself off. “Not many people do it right.”

Somehow, we manage to keep straight faces until after we leave the store.

On the walk to the car, Dad asks, “Was that who I think it was?”

“Yup. Pretty sure.”

“I’m glad you didn’t let him ruin fishing for you.”

“Same,” I agree. “Just think, if he had, we wouldn’t have had the pleasure of watching him belly crawl around the fly shop today!”

16 thoughts on “Fly Shop Man”

  1. I love how you and your dad keep cool, but the guy makes a fool out of himself for you. Also, you made fishing sound like something anyone would love, even though I’m known as the one in my family who hasn’t caught any and doesn’t care. 😉

    Like

    1. I think Dad was so taken aback by the confrontation that he didn’t know what to do. I cried and worried about killing that fish after I had so much fun catching her. I’m glad I made it sound fun because it is! And I’m really, really glad that we went to the fly shop that day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. How funny – the image of Fly guy flopping on the floor! I too have an awkward story about out-fishing men as a teenage girl. So this sort of brought me back!

    Something to think about… it would be interesting to see how this story flowed if you launched right into the fishing story. I almost feel like the set up slows you down.

    This has a sweet Daddy/Daughter inside joke feel to it that’s both funny and nostalgic. Lovely work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d actually forgotten about the guy (mostly) until he started belly crawling around the store, so the sequence just kind of happened. I do like the idea of trying a more straightforward timeline and seeing how that reads.

      One of the great things about fishing with Dad is all the stories that come out of it!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. That day in the shop, I think he was actually trying to be nice and helpful. But when you even mansplain to other men, nice and helpful looks a lot like crawling on the floor. 🙂

      Like

  3. Aw man, this brought back so many memories for me. First, of my dad teaching me to tie flies because I had tiny little hands so I could use tiny little hooks, but also of long afternoons at the river… My dad wouldn’t fish if there was anyone else around, though, and I wonder if that’s because of guys like this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I used to get really grumpy when Dad gave me pointers (“Okaaaay, Dad! I get it. I’ll take off the pretty fly that isn’t catching anything and put on a stinking wooly bugger.” eye roll). I suspect he didn’t want to push his luck by teaching me to tie, but I’ve been thinking about asking him.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment